Skip to content
December 3, 2010 / Alex Thompson

Episode 003: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

In this episode Alex and Raz talk about Scott Pilgrim vs. the World and only one of them is right. Is it actually a good film? Is Michael Cera a good actor? And most importantly, how many times can we talk about a pee bar?

As always, please send feedback including your own DVD Box Quote to thewhiteboardpodcast@gmail.com or leave us a comment on our website at thewhiteboardpodcast.wordpress.com. And please leave us a written review in iTunes so our listenership can grow!

Listen to Episode 003: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World here.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mike Shutt / Dec 5 2010 8:40 pm

    Raz, thank you for being sensible on this movie. Michael Cera DOES in fact play the same annoying, awkward character in every movie, and the act is really wearing thin. The film had an interesting concept and fails quite miserably in its execution. All the one-off jokes don’t fit into the world Edgar Wright had set up, and the tonal shifts make absolutely no sense. For me, I found the fight scenes very generic and repetitive, knowing how each one was going to end before they started. Kieran Culkin is pretty funny, but it wasn’t enough to make the film enjoyable. Also, I am surprised you did not mention the WORST line of the film: “Bicurious? Well I’m bifurious!”. Great show guys. Keep it up.

    -GC151

  2. athelastman / Dec 5 2010 8:57 pm

    This is certain a love it or hate it film. I’m happy with it but I certainly understand those that didn’t like it.

    I still maintain that Cera is a better actor than his reputation. I don’t think he is as one-note as his detractors say he is. He’s close to two or three notes. From an objective point of view his characters in Arrested Development and Scott Pilgrim can’t be said to be exactly the same.

  3. Bondo / Dec 6 2010 12:40 pm

    I’m pretty sure Raz said something foolish this time as well, but I may well be closer to him on Scott Pilgrim. I do consider it one of the funniest 2010 films (why do people hate puns so much) but I think the film jams in so many evil exes in such short time that it fails miserably at making them actually represent relationship baggage on anything but the most superficial level and thus I had no emotional connection to the film.

Leave a comment